Course description

  • What is the focus of this course?

    The CompTIA Security+ certification training will enable learners to gain knowledge and skills required to install and configure systems to secure applications, networks, and devices; perform threat analysis and respond with appropriate mitigation techniques; participate in risk mitigation activities; operate with an awareness of applicable policies, laws, and regulations. Upon successfully validating their skills by passing the certification exam learners will be able to perform these tasks to support the principles of confidentiality, integrity, and availability.

    CompTIA Security+ meets the ISO 17024 standard and is approved by U.S. Department of Defense to fulfill Directive 8570.01-M requirements. Once you obtain your Security+ you automatically have the CE designation required in the DoD Directive 8570.01 manual and going forward must comply with the CE program requirement of completing 50 CEUs in three years to maintain the credential. Security+ is also compliant with government regulations under the Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA).

    According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Security Specialists, Administrators and Managers earn over $86,000 per year.

  • What are the course objectives?

    • Comprehend Risk identification and mitigation
    • Provide operational, information, application and infrastructure level security
    • Secure the network to maintain availability, integrity and confidentiality of critical information
    • Operate within a set of rules, policies and regulations wherever applicable

  • Who should take this course?

    The course is ideal for professionals in the role of a

    • Systems Administrator
    • Network Administrator
    • Security Administrator
    • Junior IT Auditor/Penetration Tester

Course preview

    • Lesson 01 1:14:20
      • 1.1 Networking 14:06
      • 1.2 LAN Security 12:31
      • 1.3 Firewalls 02:53
      • 1.4 IDS 08:42
      • 1.5 Transport Layer Security 03:38
      • 1.6 IPSec 07:04
      • 1.7 NAC 08:00
      • 1.8 Advanced IDS 05:44
      • 1.9 Advanced Perimeter Security 11:42
    • Lesson 02 1:33:18
      • 2.1 Principles of Security 07:41
      • 2.2 Risk Management 17:01
      • 2.3 Physical Security 07:29
      • 2.4 Environmental Security 04:20
      • 2.5 Data Classification 13:42
      • 2.6 Operational Security 07:18
      • 2.7 Incident Response 08:40
      • 2.8 Change Management 04:01
      • 2.9 Disaster Recovery 09:06
      • 2.10 Forensics 14:00
    • Lesson 03 2:21:21
      • 3.1 Malware 13:49
      • 3.2 Cyberattacks 17:16
      • 3.3 DNS Security 04:08
      • 3.4 Social Engineering 08:49
      • 3.5 Wireless Attacks 07:39
      • 3.6 Advanced Wireless Security 14:08
      • 3.7 Cross Site Scripting-XSS Attacks 08:31
      • 3.8 Buffer Overflows 23:18
      • 3.9 Security Testing Tools 09:23
      • 3.10 Security Information and Event Management 11:51
      • 3.11 Platform Hardening and Baselining 07:44
      • 3.12 Honeypots 05:58
      • 3.13 Vulnerability Assessment and Pen Testing 08:47
    • Lesson 04 1:35:35
      • 4.1 Application Design Flaws and Bugs 03:53
      • 4.2 Mobile Security and Device Management 09:23
      • 4.3 Key Management 16:55
      • 4.4 Virtualization and Cloud Security 28:40
      • 4.5 Securing Storage and Storage Platforms 18:41
      • 4.6 Information Lifecycle Management 05:16
      • 4.7 Hacking IoT 08:51
      • 4.8 Securing the Power Grid 03:56
    • Lesson 05 56:52
      • 5.1 Access Controls 10:05
      • 5.2 Kerberos 12:50
      • 5.3 Single Sign On 13:40
      • 5.4 Identity Federation 06:53
      • 5.5 Id Governance 13:24
    • Lesson 06 1:11:30
      • 6.1 Encryption 07:14
      • 6.2 Advanced Cryptography 13:41
      • 6.3 Message Authentication Codes 05:40
      • 6.4 Crypto Algorithms 08:03
      • 6.5 A Note On Salting 06:59
      • 6.6 Public Key Infrastructure 09:36
      • 6.7 PKI Management 20:17
    • {{childObj.title}}
      • {{childObj.childSection.chapter_name}}
        • {{lesson.title}}
      • {{lesson.title}}

    View More

    View Less

Exam & certification

  • How do I get certified in CompTIA Security+ 501?

    Candidates who want to be CompTIA Security+ SYO-501 certified must pass the SY0-501 exam. The exam consists of: Maximum of 90 questions Duration of the exam is 90 minutes The minimum passing score is 750 with differential pricing as per your region.

    Please click the following link for more details regarding certification exam

  • What are the prerequisites for the certification?

    There are no specific prerequisites to take up this certification but it is recommended that individuals take the Network+ certification before taking the Security+ SYO-501 training and certification exam. 

  • What do I need to do to unlock my certificate?

    Online Classroom:
    Attend one complete online classroom of the course.

  • Does the course fee include in examination fees as well?

    Yes, the course fee is inclusive of the exam fee only in US & ROW(except Africa).

  • Until when can I procure voucher from Simplilearn?

    Your exam voucher fee is included in the price of this course. However, you must procure the exam voucher within 3 months from the date of course purchase.In the event that an exam price does go up and you have not yet booked the exam, you will need to pay the difference in amount to Simplilearn.

  • How do I schedule my exam?

    For assistance in scheduling your exam, reach out to the sales consultant (inside sales manager) or raise a request to the support team of Simplilearn.  

  • What is the validity of my exam voucher?

    Exam vouchers are valid for 1 year from the date of course purchase. If you do not book the exam within 1 year from purchase of voucher, you will need to buy the voucher again per the actual price.

  • Can I ask for refund of exam voucher cost once its issued to me?

    No, exam voucher cost cannot be refunded once it is issued to a learner as we procure this from third party bodies. Simplilearn does not own the voucher policies and cost.

  • How frequently does the exam fee change?

    Exam prices are governed by the certification body and can change. Price changes are typically announced at the end of the calendar year. If the event that an exam price does go up and you have not yet booked the exam, you will need to pay the difference in amount to Simplilearn.


  • What payment options are available?

    You can enroll for the training online. Payments can be made using any of the following options and receipt of the same will be issued to the candidate automatically via email.

    • Visa debit/credit card
    • American express and Diners club card
    • Master Card, or
    • Through PayPal

  • Can I cancel my enrollment? Will I get a refund?

    Yes, you can cancel your enrollment. We provide you complete refund after deducting the administration fee. To know more please go through our Refund Policy.

  • How will I get my course completion certificate from Simplilearn?

    We offer course completion certificate after you successfully complete the training program.

  • Where and how can I access the e-learning content? Are there any limitations?

    Once you register with us for a course by paying the course fee, you can have 24/7 access to the e-learning content on our website. An automated course purchase confirmation mail from our side will guide you through the process.

  • I am not able to access the online course. Whom should I contact for a solution?

    Please raise a request via our Help and Support portal to have your issue resolved.

    • Disclaimer
    • PMP, PMI, PMBOK, CAPM, PgMP, PfMP, ACP, PBA, RMP, SP, and OPM3 are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.