COBIT forwards a life cycle approach that provides a way for enterprises to use COBIT to address the complexity and challenges that are typically encountered during implementations.  The three interrelated components of the life cycle are the Core continual improvement life cycle, Enablement of change, addressing the behavioral and cultural aspects as well as Management of the program. Besides, there are seven phases in COBIT implementation that are created to ensure successful implementation. Let’s discuss these phases in this post.

7 Phases of COBIT Implementation

There are seven lifecycle phases of COBIT Implementation, namely:

  1. What are the drivers?
  2. What are we now?
  3. What do we want to be?
  4. What needs to be done?
  5. How do we get there?
  6. Did we get there?
  7. How do we keep the momentum going?

Video banner image for Cobit 5 Certification

Phase 1: What are the drivers? This phase starts with recognizing and agreeing to the need for an implementation. It identifies the current pain points and triggers and creates a desire to change at executive management levels.

Stand Out From Your Peers this Appraisal Season

Start Learning With Our FREE CoursesEnroll Now
Stand Out From Your Peers this Appraisal Season
Phase 2: What are we now? This phase is focused on defining the scope of the implementation using COBIT’s mapping of enterprise goals to IT-related goals to the associated IT processes, and considering how risk scenarios could also highlight key processes on which to focus.

Phase 3: What do we want to be? In this phase, an improvement target is set, followed by a more detailed analysis using COBIT’s guidance to identify gaps and potential solutions. Some solutions may offer quick wins and others might be more challenging.

Phase 4: What needs to be done? This plans practical solutions by defining projects supported by justifiable business cases. A change plan for implementation is also developed.

Phase 5: How do we get there? The proposed solutions are implemented into day-to-day practices in this phase. Measures can be defined and established using COBIT’s goals and metrics to ensure that business alignment is achieved and maintained and performance can be measured.

Phase 6: Did we get there? This phase focuses on the sustainable operation of the new or improved enablers and the monitoring of the achievement of expected benefits.

Phase 7: How do we keep the momentum going? In this phase, the overall success of the initiative is reviewed, further requirements for the governance or management of enterprise are identified and the need for continual improvement is reinforced. To know more about COBIT implementation, you can explore our COBIT training courses on COBIT Exam. Simplilearn offers extensive classroom training courses on COBIT Exam prep.

Here is a video that takes you through introduction to COBIT5 certification. Hope you find it beneficial.

About the Author


Chandana - A Senior Content Writer in who handles variety of writing jobs. She has done M.A. in English Literature from Gauhati University. A PRINCE2 Foundation certified, she has a refreshing style of writing which can engross the readers to devour each sentence of her write-ups.

View More
  • Disclaimer
  • PMP, PMI, PMBOK, CAPM, PgMP, PfMP, ACP, PBA, RMP, SP, and OPM3 are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.