ITIL Certification levels, Salary, and Career Benefits in-store

ITIL Certification levels, Salary, and Career Benefits in-store

Eshna Verma

Last updated March 11, 2019


The IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL®) certification is a globally recognized IT service management certification, distributed by Axelos. The ITIL Foundation certification is an entry level qualification in field of IT service management.

Every professional who wants to develop their career in IT Service Management should consider an ITIL Foundation course. Once certified in ITIL Foundation, you will be able to guide a business organization in executing the best IT service management practices along with using IT as a tool for its growth or change.

Why Get ITIL Certified?

The ITIL Foundation certification is applicable in any organization for training since it is not based on any special technique—offering a wide variety of job opportunities in IT companies. IT professionals will learn to create and implement a variety of best practices of quality management along with IT service management, which in turn will result in better growth of the business. 

The ITIL Foundation certification is the base for other ITIL certifications and adds two credit points to the qualification scheme of ITIL. This training program helps in increasing the confidence level of the candidates by allowing them to design, implement, and use IT services for the satisfaction of their customers.

The ITIL framework helps provide a common language in delivering IT services—including interacting with suppliers and customers more effectively to overcome any challenges between IT and business to achieve targeted results.

Moreover, the ITIL Foundation certification is the best among several other certification courses preferred by professionals of IT service management because it provides basic knowledge about the concepts, core principles, and best practices used in IT service management.

ITIL Certification Levels

The ITIL framework presently offers four levels of the ITIL certification.

Level 1

The first level of the ITIL certification is ITIL Foundation certification, which focuses on building standard terminology and methodology. Learners will obtain knowledge to support and deliver ITIL services. At this level, candidates understand the basics of ITIL and the ways to implement it in a workplace. Along with a practical approach to IT service management, this certification course also focuses on the approach and standards of quality management.

Level 2

The second level of the ITIL certification is the Practitioner level. This level helps improve candidates’ ability to adopt and adapt ITIL within their organizations. ITIL Practitioners learn how to foster a culture of continuous service improvement, as well as how to improve productivity, efficiency, and collaboration between ITSM and the organization as a whole.

Level 3

The third level of the ITIL certification is the ITIL Intermediate certification. There are two categories of certification: Service Lifecycle and Service Capability.

  • Service Lifecycle involves a high level focus of management across several processes of ITIL.
  • Service Capability provides specialized and process-level knowledge in one or more ITIL processes.

Level 4

The fourth level of the ITIL certification is ITIL Expert certification, which is delivered in modular form. Candidates must have passed the previous levels, proving they have the detailed skills and knowledge to clearly understand the entire system of ITIL. Candidates are allowed to choose from a variety of ITIL processes on the basis of their personal requirements. In order to receive the credential, candidates must possess complete and balanced knowledge of the lifecycle of ITIL service to obtain this certification.

Level 5

The fifth level of the ITIL certification is the ITIL Master Level certification, which strengthens and widens the practical application of ITIL knowledge in a variety of settings. The ITIL professionals directly involved in planning, management, and operation of IT service management functions obtain this certification to demonstrate their knowledge. An ITIL Master can describe and justify how they have chosen and used ITIL knowledge, principles, techniques, and methods along with supporting management techniques to achieve the expected business outcome.

Eligibility for the ITIL certification 

Though anyone working in the IT service industry can take the ITIL Foundation certification course, it is ideal for service delivery professionals, operation managers, production support engineers, and quality analysts. It is the best-suited certification for the IT professionals who want to progress in the IT service sector.

Career benefits of the ITIL certification

Once you are a certified ITIL Foundation professional you will be able to contribute to the overall service improvement program of an organization. You will find a number of job opportunities in IT infrastructure management and IT service design after attaining the ITIL Foundation certification. 

Combining an ITIL certification with other certifications can significantly increase one’s salary range. For example, someone with a Cisco certification who earns about $83,000 a year can jump to more than $96,000 with ITIL salary.


Getting ITIL certified can help boost your career in IT. Ensure you are in top shape for the ITIL 2011 exam with Simplilearn’s ITIL 2011 Foundation certification training. Simplilearn also offers a variety of other ITIL training courses, including ITIL Expert programs.

Want a taste of Simplilearn’s online training? Watch this 20-minute video on ITIL Basics.


Find our ITIL® 4 Foundation Online Classroom training classes in top cities:

Name Date Place
ITIL® 4 Foundation 5 Apr -6 Apr 2019, Weekdays batch Your City View Details
ITIL® 4 Foundation 22 Apr -26 Apr 2019, Weekdays batch Your City View Details
ITIL® 4 Foundation 6 May -10 May 2019, Weekdays batch Your City View Details

About the Author

Eshna writes on PMP, PRINCE2, ITIL, ITSM, & Ethical Hacking. She has done her Masters in Journalism and Mass Communication and is a Gold Medalist in the same. A voracious reader, she has penned several articles in leading national newspapers like TOI, HT, and The Telegraph. She loves travelling and photography.

Recommended articles for you

How CompTia Certification can earn you higher salary and bet...


CFA® Salary across the Globe


How to Grab the High-Paying Jobs in Big Data and Cloud Indus...