Introduction to CISA Tutorial

0.1 Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

Hello123 and Welcome to Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) Course offered by Simplilearn. This domain is an introduction to CISA. It is based on the 2015 CISA Curriculum by ISACA. The next screen shows the key features of Simplilearn. Key features Before you start, please spend some time and go through the key features of Simplilearn displayed on the screen. Let us look at the objectives of this course in the next screen. Objectives By the end of this domain you will be able to describe CISA, demonstrate your understanding of ISACA (Pronounce as: esaaca) organization, discuss the history of CISA and the current CISA syllabus as well as describe the value of CISA. You will also be in a position to list the requirements for certification and how to maintain certification. Finally, you will be able to describe the structure of CISA exams. In the next screen you will learn about the CISA course. Introduction to CISA Let us get introduced to CISA in this screen.

Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) is an information system audit certification offered by ISACA. It was introduced by ISACA in 1978, and it has grown in stature, professional offering and its global influence. This is a preferred certification for information systems control, assurance and security professionals. CISA is designed with the aim of attracting, information systems auditors, those within technology security, educators and even CIOs. In the next screen, we will look at the ISACA organization. ISACA Organization The acronym ISACA formerly stood for Information Systems Audit and Control Association. However the organization is known by the acronym ISACA only to reflect the range of governance professionals within IT that it caters for. ISACA was founded in 1969 over the years it has grown to have over 110,000 members in 180 countries as of 2014. You too can become a member of ISACA by registering on their website ( Members of ISACA get subsidized rates in pursuing their certifications which include:

• Certified Information Systems Auditor® (CISA®)

• Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT® (CGEIT®)

• Certified Information Security Manager® (CISM®)

• Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC®) Over the years, ISACA has developed COBIT 5, RISK IT and Val IT, which it continually updates. Let us look at the history of CISA in the following screen.

History of CISA CISA was introduced in the year 1978 by ISACA. The first exam was monitored in 1981 and it was approved by the United States Defense department as part of its assurance framework. CISA as a certification has won numerous awards including being designation winner in 2009, as awarded by SC Magazine. In 2011, CISA’s curriculum was changed from the previous 6 domains to 5 domains.

Till date, there are over 100,000 professionals who hold the CISA designation. Let us learn about CISA syllabus in the following screen. CISA Syllabus The CISA exam covers 5 domain areas. These domains are all examinable with different weighting in in the exam. The exam is a 200 multiple choice questions to be completed within a 4 hour period. CISA exams are done in June, September and December of each calendar year.

Below is a summary of the CISA domains.

• Domain 1 covers Auditing Information Systems and accounts for 14 percent of the CISA exam

• Domain 2 covers Governance and Management of Information Technology and accounts for 14 percent of the CISA exam

• Domain 3 covers Information Systems Acquisition, Implementation and Development and accounts for 19 percent of the CISA exam

• Domain 4 covers Information Systems Operations, Support and Maintenance and accounts for 23 Percent of the CISA exam

• Domain 5 covers Protection of Information Resources and accounts for 30% of the CISA exam.

Let us discuss the value of CISA in the next screen. Value of CISA When one attains the CISA certification, they acquire a globally accepted and recognized certification as well as get more value at the work place. They also become trusted consultants at the work place and they get recognized for their expertise among many other benefits. We will learn about CISA Certification in the next screen. CISA Certification For you to obtain the CISA certification you need to pass the CISA exam with at least 450 marks out of the total 800 marks, then apply for certification. Before you apply for certification you need to have a minimum of 5 years’ experience even though ISACA grants a number of waivers. The waivers available can be sourced from the ISACA website. In addition, you need to agree to ISACA code of professional ethics, follow continuing education program and comply with IS auditing standards.

Let us learn about CISA exam in the next screen. CISA Exam The exam CISA exam questions are prepared with the intent of measuring and testing practical The CISA exams are prepared with the aim of gauging and testing hands-on skills in Information system control and audit. It is a paper based exam, that consists of 200 multiple-choice questions covering five practice areas which must be completed within a 4 hour period. All questions have four multiple choice and are intended for one correct answer The CISA student should choose the correct answer from the choices. ISACA uses a scale from 200 to 800 when grading the examination and minimum pass mark for the CISA exam is 450 marks. Conclusion This concludes the introduction to CISA. Let us begin the course with the first domain, the Process of Auditing Information Systems.

  • Disclaimer
  • PMP, PMI, PMBOK, CAPM, PgMP, PfMP, ACP, PBA, RMP, SP, and OPM3 are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.

Request more information

For individuals
For business
Phone Number*
Your Message (Optional)
We are looking into your query.
Our consultants will get in touch with you soon.

A Simplilearn representative will get back to you in one business day.

First Name*
Last Name*
Phone Number*
Job Title*