Basics of Service Design: ITIL® Intermediate Certification Training

Basics of Service Design: ITIL® Intermediate Certification Training


Last updated October 25, 2016


Service design is a major study of ITIL® Intermediate Service Lifecycle. Service design is a stage within the overall service lifecycle.

Preparing for ITIL? Take this test to know where you stand!

There are various objectives that Service design focuses at and some of the same are mentioned as below to provide you better insights on Service design.

  • Designing services to meet agreed business outcomes
  • Identifying and managing risks
  • Designing secure and resilient IT infrastructures, environments, applications and data resources and capability design measurement methods and metrics.
  • Producing and maintaining plans, processes, policies, standards, architectures, Frameworks and documents to support the design of quality IT solutions

Four P’s of Service Design:

  1. People: This refers to the people, skills and competencies involved in the provision of IT services
  2. Products: This refers to the technology and management systems used in IT service delivery
  3. Processes: This refers to the processes, roles and activities involved in the provision of IT services
  4. Partners: This refers to the vendors, manufacturers and suppliers that are used to assist and support IT service provision

Key Processes of Service Design:
The major key processes of Service design are mentioned as below.

  • Service catalogue Management
  • Service Level Management
  • Capacity Management
  • Availability Management
  • Information Security Management
  • Supplier Management

Individual Aspects of Service Design:
There are five individual aspects of Service design and these are stated as below:

  • New or changed service solutions
  • Service management systems and tools
  • Technology architectures and management systems
  • Processes, roles and capabilities
  • Measurement methods and metrics

To know more about Service design, you can explore our training courses on ITIL® Intermediate service modules. Simplilearn offers intensive online training on ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle Modules.

Find our ITIL® Foundation Online Classroom training classes in top cities:

Name Date Place
ITIL® Foundation 11 Jan -12 Jan 2019, Weekdays batch Your City View Details
ITIL® Foundation 28 Jan -1 Feb 2019, Weekdays batch Dallas View Details
ITIL® Foundation 8 Feb -9 Feb 2019, Weekdays batch Chicago View Details

About the Author

Chandana is working as a Senior Content Writer in and handles variety of creative writing jobs. She has done M.A. in English Literature from Gauhati University. A PRINCE2 Foundation certified, she has a unique and refreshing style of writing which can engross the readers to devour each sentence of her write-ups.

Recommended articles for you

ITIL Service Design - An Ephemeral Overview and Concepts Inv...


The ITIL Intermediate Certification: The What, Why and How


Service Management Stakeholders: ITIL® Foundation Certifica...