In the previous article, we talked about the learning path to becoming an Information Security Consultant. In this article, however, we will take up the learning path to becoming an Information Security Architect.

Just to refresh what we touched upon in the last article, there are two recommended learning paths that you can take to become the IT security expert.

1. Becoming an Information Security consultant
2. Becoming an Information Security Architect

The IT Security learning path

Information Security Architect

What do they do?

The Security Architect is a senior level employee who will be responsible for the creation of complex security structures and ensuring that they work.

These architects are trained to think like hackers since a main part of their job is to anticipate the moves of hackers trying to attain unauthorized access.

Many a times they are required to work at odd hours, and it is important for them to stay up to date with all the latest and current developments in both the security end as well as the attacking end.

IT experts state that the best security architects are those who were once hackers, which makes it adept for them to understand the ways in which a hackers mind may work.

It is necessary for architects to understand the computer systems of the organization and its weak points.

Accordingly, recommendations to improve and update the security of the computers needs to be given. Countermeasures need to also be developed to protect systems when an unauthorized user tries to gain access.

The responsibilities of a security architect include:

  • Acquire a complete understanding of a company’s technology and information systems
  • Plan, research and design robust security architectures for any IT project
  • Perform vulnerability testing, risk analyses and security assessments
  • Research security standards, security systems and authentication protocols
  • Develop requirements for local area networks (LANs), wide area networks (WANs), virtual private networks (VPNs), routers, firewalls, and related network devices
  • Design public key infrastructures (PKIs), including use of certification authorities (CAs) and digital signatures
  • Prepare cost estimates and identify integration issues
  • Review and approve installation of firewall, VPN, routers, IDS scanning technologies and servers
  • Test final security structures to ensure they behave as expected
  • Provide technical supervision for (and guidance to) a security team
  • Define, implement and maintain corporate security policies and procedures
  • Oversee security awareness programs and educational efforts
  • Respond immediately to security-related incidents and provide a thorough post-event analysis
  • Update and upgrade security systems as needed

IT Security Architect learning path

1. CompTIA Security+

For an ideal starting point in a cyber-security certification path, a CompTIA Security+ certification does the job.

  • The certification cover both practical and theory applications in a wide range of security topics such as network attacks and counter measures, risk management, application security, operational security, and compliance. 
  • This certification is set as a bench mark for entry level talent, by government organizations such as the US Dept. of Defense.
  • Thus, the door to a wide range of opportunities in the public sector are opened.
  • Leading certifying bodies like EC Council and enterprises like IBM use the Security+ certification as a prerequisite to their trainings and certification tracks.

The prerequisites to this exam are:

There are no prerequisites for this exam.

2. Ethical Hacking

  • With this certification, the network security specialists are taught how to think like malicious hackers.

  • With the techniques and tools used by hackers, professionals who are certified in ethical hacking are taught to proficiently identify any sort of system vulnerabilities and implement appropriate safeguard and counter measures.
  • While it is evident that CEH has its focus on the penetration testing, its usefulness and marketability transcends this niche.
  • Thus, making it the ideal intermediate credential.

The prerequisites of this exam are:

For CEH (Certified Ethical Hacker) training and certification course, a candidate must have-

  • Information security related experience
  • Strong knowledge of TCP/ IP
  • An educational background that reflects specialization in information security


This is certification is at an expert level.

  • Those professionals who are certified CISSPs possess in depth knowledge of real world tactics in ten of the vital cyber security domains including risk management, network security, business continuity, policy recreation, software development security, operations security, and regulatory compliance.
  • Those with 5+ years of experience in two or more of the 8 CISSP security domains can sit for this exam to get certified.

The prerequisites to this exam are:

5 years of full time security work experience in 2 or more of these 8 domains of the (ISC)² CISSP CBK:

  • Asset Security (Protecting Security of Assets)
  • Security and Risk Management (Security, Risk, Compliance, Law, Regulations, and Business Continuity)
  • Communication and Network Security (Designing and Protecting Network Security)
  • Security Engineering (Engineering and Management of Security)
  • Security Operations (Foundational Concepts, Investigations, Incident Management, and Disaster Recovery)
  • Identity and Access Management (Controlling Access and Managing Identity)
  • Security Assessment and Testing (Designing, Performing, and Analyzing Security Testing)
  • Software Development Security (Understanding, Applying, and Enforcing Software Security)

The Positions you should land to get to the top

The road to becoming a Security Architect often starts with entry-level security positions such as:

  • Security Administrator
  • Network Administrator
  • System Administrator

This is followed by intermediate-level positions such as:

  • Security Analyst
  • Security Engineer
  • Security Consultant

Once a professional has attained a title, it’s possible to then be promoted to Senior Security Architect or even Chief Security Architect.

Or one could consider becoming a:

  • CISO

Salary Prospects

According to, the annual median salary of an IT security architect is $113,905. The total pay, however, is between $84,541 - $161,022, which includes a bonus, profit sharing, and a commission. 

We have given you a path to follow. Now it is your turn to shine!

Simplilearn offer training courses in CompTIA Security+, CISSP, CISA, CISM, and CEH. Get ahead in the world of IT security with Simplilearn’s world class training.

Our Cyber Security Certifications Duration And Fees

Cyber Security Certifications typically range from a few weeks to several months, with fees varying based on program and institution.

Program NameDurationFees
Post Graduate Program in Cyber Security

Cohort Starts: 20 Jun, 2024

6 Months$ 3,000
Cybersecurity for Technical Leaders Program

Cohort Starts: 13 Jul, 2024

3 Months$ 3,000
Caltech Cybersecurity Bootcamp

Cohort Starts: 15 Jul, 2024

6 Months$ 8,000
Cyber Security Expert6 Months$ 2,999

Learn from Industry Experts with free Masterclasses

  • Program Preview: Discover Your Road to a Major Career Break in 2024

    Cyber Security

    Program Preview: Discover Your Road to a Major Career Break in 2024

    7th Dec, Thursday7:00 PM IST
  • How 2024's Cyber Attacks Are Opening Cyber Jobs for You?

    Cyber Security

    How 2024's Cyber Attacks Are Opening Cyber Jobs for You?

    7th May, Tuesday7:30 PM IST
  • Prepare your Cyber Security career for 2024: Top Dos and Don'ts

    Cyber Security

    Prepare your Cyber Security career for 2024: Top Dos and Don'ts

    7th Mar, Thursday9:00 PM IST