Information Technology Infrastructure Library, or ITIL®, is a widely accepted foundation framework used by organizations to manage IT services—providing the structure to manage and deliver a variety of services to ensure a consistent user experience. Many well-known companies including Caterpillar, Boeing, Microsoft, IBM, and more have implemented ITIL® practices into their IT service management infrastructure.

Professionals involved in IT Services Management, Project Management, Service Operation, Service Transition, and Service Strategy and Design, typically benefit the most from this vendor-neutral certification.

Want to know more? Watch our video on Introduction to ITIL® V3 Foundation Training.

ITIL Intermediate Certification

What is the ITIL® Intermediate Certification? This certification comes after and builds upon the foundation level—with a similar modular structure, each of which provides a focus on a different aspect of the IT Service Management class. There are many reasons to get an ITIL® certification. The ITIL® intermediate level is a very crucial stage in the ITIL® scheme; it provides middle-stage knowledge and leads you toward Expert level status. The modules within the ITIL® intermediate stage are divided into two major groups: Service Lifecycle and Service Capability.

Do some thorough research before choosing which accrediting body to take the exam from. It is also important to note that the ITIL® Intermediate level is a very crucial stage in the ITIL® scheme. It dictates your middle-stage knowledge and leads you to the top stage also known as Expert Level.

Eligibility Requirements

There are no prerequisites or other formal qualifications required to pursue the IT intermediate certification. Most people who have knowledge of IT service providing organizations or department will be able to pass the ITIL® intermediate certification exam. Those who take courses to pursue the ITIL® Intermediate examination will be qualified for further, advanced courses in the ITIL® scheme. Our free eBook Complete Guide to ITIL® Certification can give you more details.

The ITIL® Certification Exam

The exam takes the format of multiple choice, scenario-based, gradient scored questions. There are 8 questions per section, with each question worth 5 points (for 40 points total). Points are awarded according to how a candidate answers each question: the full 5 points are given for a correct answer, 3 for a partially correct answer, 1 for the least correct and 0 for a completely incorrect answer. For a candidate to successfully pass, the minimum score is 28 out of the possible 40 points, or 70% of the total score percentage. The exam duration is 1.5 hours and is a closed book session exam.

To retake the exam, you’ll need to pay an exam re-sit fee in addition to the course fee. Your ATO will give you an outline of the areas you did not perform well so that you know which areas you need additional studying. You can retake the exam as many times as necessary. 

Earn Upto 19 LPA or More - Upskill Now

ITIL 4 FoundationExplore Program
Earn Upto 19 LPA or More - Upskill Now

Career Growth and Post-Certification

The ITIL® intermediate certification doesn’t expire, so you won’t need to recertify every few years—keeping your ITIL® intermediate cost a one-time expense. Individuals with ITIL® intermediate certifications are highly sought out by employers; this certification is increasingly becoming a required qualification for many IT job descriptions. Those who achieve ITIL® certification can expect the minimum pay to begin close to $100,000 a year.
Holders of the ITIL® intermediate certification can qualify for the ITIL® Expert Level certification where they will train for and complete an MALC examination.
Ready to get started working on your ITIL® intermediate certification? Visit Simplilearn to see the different ITIL® Intermediate training courses we offer and learn which specialization is right for you. 

About the Author

Eshna VermaEshna Verma

Eshna writes on PMP, PRINCE2, ITIL, ITSM, & Ethical Hacking. She has done her Masters in Journalism and Mass Communication and is a Gold Medalist in the same. A voracious reader, she has penned several articles in leading national newspapers like TOI, HT, and The Telegraph. She loves travelling and photography.

View More
  • Disclaimer
  • PMP, PMI, PMBOK, CAPM, PgMP, PfMP, ACP, PBA, RMP, SP, and OPM3 are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.