The business world has changed. Promotions aren’t just based on seniority, and there is no such thing as job security in today’s business environment.

Becoming irrelevant is a biggest problem for professionals today, given the lightning-fast pace of innovation in every field.  Being able to learn new skills – quickly – is a talent that sets certain people apart. Employers love people who can keep up with the latest developments of a field.

This is true for any industry, but it is especially true in the IT industry. This means that IT professionals are looking into all kinds of training to keep up – but by far the best way to stay in the game is with an ITIL® certification.

Preparing for ITIL® ? Take this test to know where you stand!

The ITIL® framework

Of course, many of you may already have an ITIL® certification.

For those who are new to this field, ITIL® is a set of practices for IT service management. It is an acronym for Information Technology Infrastructure Library, and focuses on aligning IT services with the needs of business.

Among the most widely accepted IT frameworks, ITIL® is commonly used by companies to manage IT services. It provides a structure to efficiently deliver different services for users, so that they have a consistent experience.

International companies like IBM, Microsoft, Caterpillar, and Boeing benefit from the successful implementation of ITIL® in their IT service management.

Earn Upto 19 LPA or More - Upskill Now

ITIL 4 FoundationExplore Program
Earn Upto 19 LPA or More - Upskill Now

There are four levels to the ITIL®

ITIL® Foundation: this certification covers the fundamental concepts of ITIL® .

ITIL® Intermediate: This certification details the five primary ITIL® framework phases.

ITIL® Expert: This certification explores the finer details of the ITIL® structure.

ITIL® Master: This certification attests that a person is able to and implement all phases of ITIL® into a real world framework that is tailored to business needs.

ITIL® Foundation to IT Service Expert

Getting the ITIL® Foundation certification is just the beginning of a long but gratifying – and profitable – journey. You will have just learned the basics. As mentioned above, there are still a lot of steps to take before you can call yourself an ITIL® specialist.

One way to speed up the process is by taking an ITIL® package certification course. Simplilearn offers a package that consists of the entire suite of ITIL® courses – The IT Service Expert Program.

The program covers all aspects of ITIL® , from service design to service architecture. You will also learn how the world’s largest and fastest-growing industries have designed strategies to fuel their growth.

What are the benefits of getting masters-certified in ITIL® ?

#1 Better Pay: First off, the pay for ITIL® Foundation certified individuals is excellent. Being certified in more than one area of ITIL® is even better. ITIL® Foundation certified professionals earn an average salary of $91,000, whereas professionals with multiple skills in ITIL® earn an average of $112,000.

#2 Marketable skills: With the Masters certification you have close to 7 skills to advertise, which makes you extremely attractive to employers who are hiring.  

#3 Growing demand for the ITIL® framework: ITIL® is tied to the ISO/IEC 20000 standards, which means the popularity of the ITIL® framework isn’t about to die down any time soon. With over 800 (and rising!) organizations being ISO/IEC 20000 certified, the demand for ITIL® certified professionals is increasing by the day.

#5 Global implementation: You can work anywhere in the world with an ITIL® certification. There are over 10,000 companies and organizations world-wide that have adopted the ITIL® framework.

Well, what are you waiting for?

Now is your chance to get out there and be the Master you always dreamed of being. If you’re looking to become an expert in ITIL, consider starting with Simplilearn’s ITIL® 4 Foundation course. 

Go on, get certified and get ahead!

About the Author

Avantika MonnappaAvantika Monnappa

A project management and digital marketing knowledge manager, Avantika’s area of interest is project design and analysis for digital marketing, data science, and analytics companies.

View More
  • Disclaimer
  • PMP, PMI, PMBOK, CAPM, PgMP, PfMP, ACP, PBA, RMP, SP, and OPM3 are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.