ITIL Lifecycle Components and Configuration Management

ITIL Lifecycle Components and Configuration Management


Last updated September 12, 2018


The architecture of the ITIL Core is based on a Service Lifecycle. Each volume of the core is represented in the Service Lifecycle.  A service lifecycle starts with Service Strategy. This is the time to decide when and what services an IT organization should provide, to stay competitive in the market. So in this phase, questions like 'what service to provide', 'why will some one pay for our services' etc are decided.  The next stage in the service lifecycle is Service Design, wherein specific design related decisions are made. For example, 'what user base are we targeting', 'will our service be 24/7' etc. The ITIL Lifecycle Modules provide a deeper insight on managing multiple areas of competence.

Learn about the ITIL Lifecycle components in this video.

 Check out Simplilearn's ITIL Certification training

Find our ITIL® Foundation Online Classroom training classes in top cities:

Name Date Place
ITIL® Foundation 11 Jan -12 Jan 2019, Weekdays batch Your City View Details
ITIL® Foundation 28 Jan -1 Feb 2019, Weekdays batch Dallas View Details
ITIL® Foundation 8 Feb -9 Feb 2019, Weekdays batch Chicago View Details

About the Author

Eshna is a writer at Simplilearn. She has done Masters in Journalism and Mass Communication and is a Gold Medalist in the same. A voracious reader, she has penned several articles in leading national newspapers like TOI, HT and The Telegraph. She loves traveling and photography.

Recommended articles for you

What are the basic differences between the Lifecycle and the...


ITIL Service Strategy - The First Stage of ITIL Service Life...


Lifecycle versus Capability Courses (ITIL® V3)