A decade and a half ago, the concept of the public cloud was just starting to take hold. People were skeptical. Around the same time, Apple unveiled the iPhone. What was new and earth-shattering then quickly became something odd not to have. Since then, the cloud and mobility have been driving the demand for new and better technologies at an increasingly rapid pace. That, in turn, is creating new career opportunities. 

Today, you’d find it difficult, if not impossible, to find anyone who is not heavily connected to the cloud. But there needs to be a way to manage these rapidly changing technologies. Enter IT Services Management—specifically ITIL® 4, the latest version of the world’s most popular ITSM framework.  

Why Should You Get an ITIL® 4 Certification?

This is the first major revision of the framework since 2007, so it’s a good idea to consider upgrading any ITIL® certifications you may already have. Why? While your ITIL® v3 certification is still valuable if you earn an ITIL®  4 certification you will be better equipped to work with the most innovative and cutting-edge technologies today. 

For instance, ITIL® 4 is built to work well with AI, which we are now seeing in the wild more often. In AI projects involving something as critical as cybersecurity, humans must be able to intervene. Using ITIL® 4 best practices, you can ensure that the required documentation is available to foster an environment of continual improvement with the added benefits of AI and automation. Getting certified in ITIL® 4 also puts you closer to the role of “value creator” for the company. That is a surefire way to stand out in the crowd.

Earn Upto 19 LPA or More - Upskill Now

ITIL 4 FoundationExplore Program
Earn Upto 19 LPA or More - Upskill Now

Competition is Stiff

In case you haven’t heard, there’s a massive tech talent shortage. In fact, it’s one of the biggest risks companies of all stripes face today, according to Gartner. This translates directly into job opportunities for those with the skills hiring managers are having a tough time finding. ITIL® 4 is relatively new in the ITSM industry, so you will have an advantage if you get certified early.

What Certifications are Available?

Axcelos, the body that owns ITIL® , released the latest version in February 2019. The full certification schema is being released in segments. The latest available certification is ITIL® 4 Managing Professional which went live in the second half of 2019.  The ITIL® Strategist Leader Modules are set to go live in 2H 2020.

Here are the components of the scheme:

ITIL 4 Overhaul

Learning Paths to ITIL® Managing Professional

So, you want to attain the certified status of ITIL® 4 Managing Professional, but you aren’t sure where to start? Since many of you are at different stages of your existing ITIL® training, here are a few recommended learning paths to get you there. 

ITIL 4 Managing Professional Roadmap

There’s no question that having the latest certifications in your field is a good thing. On top of that, an ITIL® certification is one of the most valuable ones to have in today’s world. There’s plenty of opportunity out there for ITIL® 4 Managing Professionals. Just ask any hiring manager.

The learning paths above address ITSM professionals at any stage in their training. Simplilearn offers comprehensive ITIL® training, from the basics to the most advanced skills available. If you’re just getting started with ITIL® , Simplilearn’s ITIL® Certification Training Course is exactly the step you need to take. If you already hold an ITIL® V3 Expert certification, then you already qualify to update to ITIL® 4 through our ITIL® 4 Managing Professional Transition Module Training. Contact Simplilearn today to learn more about how you can boost your ITSM career.

About the Author

Karin KelleyKarin Kelley

Karin has spent more than a decade writing about emerging enterprise and cloud technologies. A passionate and lifelong researcher, learner, and writer, Karin is also a big fan of the outdoors, music, literature, and environmental and social sustainability.

View More
  • Disclaimer
  • PMP, PMI, PMBOK, CAPM, PgMP, PfMP, ACP, PBA, RMP, SP, and OPM3 are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.